

# THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO

# **COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES**

Date: December 6, 2022

To: CHS Students, Faculty, and Staff From: Joy Olimpo, CHS Assistant Dean

Subject: Commencement Honors

**Congratulations** are in order for the outstanding individuals who were selected for commencement honors for the Fall 2022 semester. These individuals will be recognized during the University Commencement Ceremony on December 10, 2022 at 1:00 PM.

**College Marshal for Health Sciences –** The College Marshal leads the CHS faculty in the processional and recessional.

Dr. Christina Sobin, Public Health Sciences Department

**Faculty Marshal of Students for Health Sciences** – The Faculty Marshal is responsible for seating candidates and helping commencement staff maintain decorum.

Dr. Jason B. Boyle, Kinesiology Department

**University Banner Bearer** – The University Banner Bearer carries the University banner, a prestigious honor for the individual and the College. An undergraduate student candidate of exceptional leadership and academic attainment is required.

Jimena Fernandez, Bachelor of Science in Public Health

**Undergraduate College Banner Bearer –** The College Banner Bearer is selected based on academic achievement, leadership, and campus involvement. This student will carry the College of Health Sciences Banner.

Abraham Mireles Avalos, Bachelor of Science in Rehabilitation Sciences

**Undergraduate Student Marshal of Students for the College of Health Sciences –** The Undergraduate Student Marshal of Students for the College of Health Sciences is selected based on academic achievement. This student will assist the Faculty Marshal and will lead the candidates on stage.

Natalia Sáenz-Vázquez, Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology

**Graduate Student Marshal of Students for the College of Health Sciences** – The Graduate Student Marshal of Students is selected based on academic achievement, leadership, and campus involvement. This student will assist the Faculty Marshal.

Diana Laura Barraza, Master of Public Health

**ACADEMIC HONORS:** Recognition of Academic Honors for Undergraduate Students at commencement ceremonies is based on cumulative grade point average (CGPA) as of November 2022. Students' official graduation honors are based on final cumulative GPA as listed in the Undergraduate Catalog. The official honors will be noted on students' academic transcripts. Honor Cords signifying the achievement are worn during commencement ceremonies. Honors for December 2022 candidates are as follows:

**Summa Cum Laude (Highest Honors)** will be awarded to students who attain a UTEP cumulative grade point average of 3.90 – 4.00. This achievement is signified by a gold honor cord worn by all UTEP honorees.

### **Kinesiology**

Alexis Carbajal
Brittany Castro
Amanda Dominguez
Zachary Johnson
Andres Negrete
Natalia Sáenz-Vázquez
Luis Verduzco
Micah Westerlink
Samantha Zapata

#### **Public Health**

Damaris Aguilar Jimena Fernandez Karmin Jurado

#### **Rehabilitation Sciences**

Abraham Mireles Avalos
Tania Castillo-Munoz
Aime Chavez
Alexah Delgado
Andrea Hernandez
Sofia Hinojosa
Ana Siqueiros
Alejandro Toccoli

**Magna Cum Laude (High Honors)** will be awarded to students who attain a UTEP cumulative grade point average of 3.80 – 3.89. This achievement is signified by a white honor cord worn by all UTEP honorees.

#### **Kinesiology**

Alianza Darley
Justin Diaz
Faith Hernandez
Jasmin Loya
Dereon Pacely
Ana Pedroza Villegas

#### **Public Health**

Faith Castro Graciela Urueta

## **Rehabilitation Sciences**

Karla Chairez Ricardo Jimenez

**Cum Laude (Honors)** will be awarded to students who attain a UTEP cumulative grade point average of 3.50 – 3.79. This achievement is signified by a salmon honor cord worn by College of Health Sciences honorees.

#### <u>Kinesiology</u>

Brystal Briones
Christian Castorena
Arleen Ceniceros
Santiago Chavez
Sydnie Smith
Melanie Yanez

#### **Public Health**

Ada Barba Escajeda
Lynette Contreras Valdez
Marisela Davila
Yesenia Diaz
Michael Estrada
Mercedes Miranda

#### **Rehabilitation Sciences**

Jonathan Almaguer
Luisa Franco Aguirre
Jose Luis Herrera
Kayla Kish
Taelor Molina
Nahomi Navar
Valeria Perez
Leslie Ruvalcaba
Paola Solanes
Carmen Trejo